Barrera & Associates, Attorneys
Request For Consultation

Enforcing minimum wage rights in California

If you are a worker in California, it is likely that you will have the right to be paid the state minimum wage. There are some exceptions to having the right to minimum wage. For example, you are not subject to the minimum wage law if you are the parent, spouse or child of your employer, if you are an apprentice employed under the State Division of Apprentice Standards or if you are an outside salesperson.

If you are not paid the minimum wage, therefore, it is important that you first verify that you do in fact have the right to be paid the state minimum wage. After you have verified this, you should then look into your legal options for enforcing your right to minimum wage and gaining the back pay that you are owed.

What is the minimum wage in the state of California?

There have been some changes to California minimum wage law in recent years. Since Jan. 1, 2017, the minimum wage has been increasing yearly for employers with 26 or more employees. In 2019, this means that all employees entitled to minimum wage must be paid at least $12 per hour. Employers who employ 25 or fewer employees will be demanded to pay a minimum of $11 per hour. This minimum wage will be set to increase from Jan. 1, 2020.

If you believe that you are not being paid the minimum wage in California, it is important that you assert your rights. You may be entitled to compensation for the wages you lost as a result of this.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
Email Us For A Response

Contact Our Law Office

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.


Privacy Policy

El Segundo Office
2298 E. Maple Avenue
El Segundo, CA 90245

Phone: 424-352-0716
El Segundo Law Office Map